The Wrecking Crew
Hal Blaine,Tommy Tedesco,Carol Kaye,Glen Campbell,Leon Russell, Don Randi,Joe Osborn,Earl Palmer,Larry Knechtel,Billy Strange, Plas Johnson,Al Casey,Bill Pitman,James Burton,Barney Kessel,Jim Gordon,Dr. John,Steve Douglas,Jerry Cole,Mike Deasy,Ray Pohlman,Al De Lory,Howard Roberts,Chuck Berghofer,Jim Horn,Lyle Ritz,Julius Wechter,Louis Shelton,Mike Melvoin,Nino Tempo,Jay Migliori,Ollie Mitchell,Michel Rubini,Max Bennett,René Hall,Tony Terran,Jimmy Bond, Red Callender,Bill Aken,Dick Hyde,Gene Cipriano,Chuck Findley,
Bud Brisbois,Gary L. Coleman,Lou Blackburn,Lew McCreary,Tommy Morgan,Irv Rubins,Doug Bartenfeld. All Los Angeles based musicians.

The Muscle Shoals Sound Rhythm Section
The four, Barry Beckett (keyboards), Roger Hawkins (drums), Jimmy Johnson (guitar) and David Hood (bass), then became known as The Muscle Shoals Sound Rhythm Section and were the first rhythm section to own a studio and eventually run their own publishing and production companies. Their backing and arrangements have been heard on many recordings, including major hits from Wilson Pickett, Aretha Franklin, and the Staple Singers, but a wide range of artists in popular music recorded hit songs and complete albums at the studio. They are referred to as “the Swampers” in the lyrics of “Sweet Home Alabama” (1974) by Lynyrd Skynyrd.
The group first came together in 1967 and initially played sessions in New York and Nashville, as well as on recordings made at Rick Hall’s FAME facility, Muscle Shoals, Alabama. The initial successes in soul and R&B led to the arrival at the Muscle Shoals Sound studios of more mainstream rock and pop performers, including The Rolling Stones, Traffic, Elton John, Boz Scaggs, Willie Nelson, Paul Simon, Bob Dylan, Dr. Hook, Elkie Brooks, Millie Jackson, Julian Lennon and Glenn Frey.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *